Honduras: Ask Your Member of Congress to Sign Human Rights Letter

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Reps. McGovern (D-MA), Schakowsky (D-IL) and Farr (D-CA) are asking other members of the House to sign a letter to Secretary of State Clinton that calls on the Honduran government to address severe human rights problems in the country.

The strong letter which you can read here [click here for the dear colleague portion] expresses  concerns “about the threats and violence directed against human rights defenders, activists, opposition leaders, members of the LGBT community and journalists in Honduras, and comments that “State institutions dramatically fail to take action to defend those at risk.”  The letter also focuses on police repression of civic protests in the last couple of months. 

Please ask your member of Congress (House only, not Senate) to sign the letter before May 25 by calling the U.S. Capitol Switchboard at (202)224-3121, ask for your representative, and then ask to speak to their foreign policy aide.

Below is a list of co-sponsors as of 8:00 PM, Thursday, May 19th:
(Deadline: May 25th)

James P. McGovern (MA)
Janice D. Schakowsky (IL)
Sam Farr (CA)
Maurice d. Hinchey (NY)
John Lewis (GA)
John Conyers, Jr. (MI)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Jesse L. Jackson, Jr. (IL)
Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
Danny K. Davis (IL)
Jim McDermott (WA)
Lynn Woolsey (CA)
Raul Grijalva (AZ)
Betty Sutton (OH)
Peter Welch (VT)
George Miller (CA)
Maxine Waters (CA)
Hank Johnson (GA)
John Garamendi (CA)
Barbara Lee (CA)
Michael Michaud (ME)
Mike Capuano (MA)
Dennis Kucinich (OH)
Louise Slaughter (NY)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Peter Stark (CA)
John Olver (MA)
Mike Honda (CA)
Mike Quigley (IL)
Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Peter DeFazio (OR)
Alcee Hastings (FL)
Donna Edwards (MD)
Jackie Speier (CA)
Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Wm. Lacy Clay (MO)
Gwen Moore (WI)
Judy Chu (CA)
G. K. Butterfield (NC)
Laura Richardson (CA)

Total: 41