Senate Honor Roll 2008

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

LAWG would like to thank:

  • Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT) for his championship of human rights. He continued to vigorously monitor the human rights conditions that apply to U.S. military aid to Colombia and withheld that aid pending significant progress in prosecuting human rights abuses.
  • Sen. Leahy (D-VT) for his efforts to ensure some human rights safeguards, even if limited, on the new U.S. aid package to Mexico and Central America.
  • Sens. Chris Dodd (D-CT) and Russ Feingold (D-WI) for their work to highlight extrajudicial executions by the Colombian army.
  • Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT) for initiating a letter to Secretary of State Rice calling for a review of Cuba policy following Fidel Castro’s announcement that he would not run for reelection as president.

LAWG would also like to thank the following members for their perfect scores this year on the Latin America votes and letters we emphasized:

Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chris Dodd (D-CT), Tom Harkin (D-IA), and Tim Johnson (D-SD).