Tell Your Representative to #SaveTPS for Hondurans and Salvadorans!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Author: Lily Folkerts

TPS Action Alert Email Banner 9

Over 250,000 Hondurans and Salvadorans receive protection from deportation and access to work in the United States under the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) program. These are our classmates, co-workers, and neighbors. They have been living and working along side us for years. Many of them have U.S.-born children and make essential contributions to our country’s economy. They’re integral parts of our communities. Yet, the Trump Administration is too blind to see this.

Now, on top of all the senseless talk on funding border walls and increasing deportation forces, the Trump Administration wants to cancel TPS for these vulnerable individuals and force them to uproot the lives they’ve built for themselves here in the United States.

Current TPS for Salvadorans and Hondurans expires at the beginning of next year, but the Secretary of the Deparment of Homeland Security (DHS) only has a few months left to decide if the program will be extended. We can’t wait until it’s too late to take action. Join us in urging this administration to protect, not deport!>>

Returning individuals who have spent years, even decades, in the United States back to dangerous conditions would only place them in harm’s way and worsen the already dire security situation in El Salvador and Honduras. We have already seen the effects of some of the Trump Administration’s harmful immigration policies that target families, individuals, and children fleeing violence by turning away asylum seekers at our border and haphazardly apprehending and deporting people without priorities. We can’t let the cancellation of TPS be another one of the administration’s attacks on refugees and immigrants!

Take action NOW and stand up for these members of our communities!

Representatives McGovern (D-MA), Hultgren (R-IL), and Torres (D-CA) authored a bipartisan letter to the DHS Secretary, urging him to extend TPS for Hondurans and Salvadorans. There are already representatives signed on, but we need more before the September 7th deadline to make a real impact! We’re counting on you.

List of 116 Signers as of September 7, 2017:

James P. McGovern (MA)
Randy Hultgren (IL)
Norma J. Torres (CA)
Ruben Gallego (AZ)
Grace F. Napolitano (CA)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Donald S. Beyer, Jr. (VA)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Joseph Crowley (NY)
Nydia M. Velázquez (NY)
Alcee L. Hastings (FL)
Luis V. Gutiérrez (IL)
Darren Soto (FL)
Adriano Espaillat (NY)
Juan Vargas (CA)
Salud O. Carbajal (CA)
Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
André Carson (IN)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ)
John Lewis (GA)
Joaquin Castro (TX)
Jimmy Gómez (CA)
Pramila Jayapal (WA)
Stephanie N. Murphy (FL)
Jamie Raskin (MD)
Seth Moulton (MA)
Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ)
Tony Cárdenas (CA)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL)
Barbara Lee (CA)
Betty McCollum (MN)
Val B. Demings (FL)
Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL)
Judy Chu (CA)
J. Luis Correa (CA)
Vicente Gonzalez (TX)
José E. Serrano (NY)
Beto O’Rourke (TX)
Ben Ray Luján (NM)

Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA)
Anthony G. Brown (MD)
Michael E. Capuano (MA)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ)
Bobby L. Rush (IL)
John A. Yarmuth (KY)
Marc A. Veasey (TX)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI)
Bill Pascrell (NJ)
Bradley S. Schneider (IL)
Ruben J. Kihuen (NV)
Adam Smith (WA)
Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM)
Mark DeSaulnier (CA)
Mark Pocan (WI)
David N. Cicilline (RI)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Keith Ellison (MN)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
Richard E. Neal (MA)
Marcy Kaptur (OH)
Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Kathleen M. Rice (NY)
Suzanne Bonamici (OR)
Adam B. Schiff (CA)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John Conyers, Jr. (MI)
Peter Welch (VT)
Frederica S. Wilson (FL)
William R. Keating (MA)
Albio Sires (NJ)
Rosa L. DeLauro (CT)
Carol Shea-Porter (NH)
Ro Khanna (CA)
Jerrold Nadler (NY)
Jared Polis (CO)
Rick Larsen (WA)
David E. Price (NC)
Mike Coffman (CO)

Ann McLane Kuster (NH)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Ted W. Lieu (CA)
Stephen F. Lynch (MA)
Jackie Speier (CA)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Yvette D. Clarke (NY)
Gwen Moore (WI)
Danny K. Davis (IL)
Linda T. Sánchez (CA)
Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
Diana DeGette (CO)
Dina Titus (NV)
Sean Patrick Maloney (NY)
Carlos Curbelo (FL)
Mike Quigley (IL)
Ted Deutch (FL)
Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (GA)
Peter A. DeFazio (OR)
Dwight Evans (PA)
Bill Foster (IL)
Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA)
Filemon Vela (TX)
Katherine M. Clark (MA)
Mike Thompson (CA)
Joyce Beatty (OH)
John K. Delaney (MD)
Niki Tsongas (MA)
Carolyn b. Maloney (NY-12)
Gerald E. Connolly(VA)
Lloyd Doggett (TX)
Lois Frankel (FL)
Elijah E. Cummings (MD)
Colleen Hanabusa (HI)
Al Lawson, Jr. (FL)
Nita M. Lowey (NY)