Update on Cuba Travel: We Gathered 59 Signatures

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

We’re 59 strong!

Due to your action/emails/phone calls we have 59 signatures from House representatives urging President Obama to support travel to Cuba by granting general licenses for ALL current categories of travel. 

By eliminating the laborious license application process, especially for people-to-people groups, that is managed by the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), the majority of the bureaucratic red tape that holds up licensable travel to Cuba would disappear and actually facilitate what the President wanted to see in 2011, liberalized travel regulations. 

Here is the final list of signatures. Take a look to see if your representative signed on! Signing this travel letter is only the first step. You can also view the final letter sent to the President by these 59 members hereas well as the press release from Congressman Farr’s office.

If your member of Congress isn’t on this list, it wouldn’t hurt to send a letter expressing your disappointment. If you want the name and email of the foreign policy aide, drop us a note or give a call and we will supply it.

Thanks for your work on this letter. It will help create space for the President to take positive action on Cuba this term. There is much that he can do . . . and we need to get political to see that it happens. We can do this!

PS: We are monitoring action on getting Cuba off the State Department’s list of state sponsors of terrorism. That is a topic for another day . . . we’ll write about it soon . . . but in the meantime, if you haven’t signed our petition, please do.

List of signers:

  1. Karen Bass, D-CA-37 
  2. Timothy Bishop D-NY-1
  3. Capps D-CA-42
  4. Capuano D-MA-7
  5. Castor D-FL-14
  6. Yvette Clarke D-NY-9
  7. Clay D-MO-1
  8. Cleaver D-MO-5
  9. Cohen D-TN-9
  10. Conyers D-MI-13
  11. Danny Davis D-IL-7
  12. DeLauro D-CT-3
  13. Donna Edwards D-MD-4
  14. Ellison D-MN-5
  15. Eshoo D-CA-18
  16. Farr D-CA-20
  17. Fattah D-PA-2
  18. Garamendi D-CA-3
  19. Grijalva D-AZ-3
  20. Holt D-NJ-12
  21. Honda D-CA-17
  22. Huffman D-CA-2
  23. Hank Johnson D-GA-4
  24. Kaptur D-OH-9
  25. Langevin D-RI-2
  26. Lee D-CA-13
  27. John Lewis D-GA-5
  28. Carolyn Maloney D-NY-12
  29. Markey D-MA-5
  30. McCollum D-MN-4
  31. McDermott D-WA-7
  32. McGovern D-MA-2
  33. Meeks D-NY-5
  34. Michaud D-ME-2
  35. George Miller D-CA-11
  36. Moran D-VA-8
  37. Nadler D-NY-10
  38. Napolitano D-CA-32
  39. Neal D-MA-1
  40. Nolan D-MA-8
  41. Norton D-DC
  42. Pingree D-ME-1
  43. Pocan D-WI-2
  44. Polis D-CO-2
  45. David Price D-NC-4
  46. Rangel D-NY-13
  47. Rush D-IL-1
  48. Schakowsky D-IL-9
  49. Bobby Scott D-VA-3
  50. Serrano D-NY-15
  51. Slaughter D-NY-25
  52. Speier D-CA-14
  53. Bennie Thompson D-MS-2
  54. Mike Thompson D-CA-5
  55. Waters D-CA-43
  56. Watt D-NC-12
  57. Waxman D-CA-33
  58. Welch D-VT
  59. Yarmuth D-KY-3