## Mr. Luis Almagro Lemes General Secretary Organization of American States

Your Excellency, Secretary General:

Please accept the warm greetings of the undersigned international organizations.

We write to you regarding your upcoming visit to Guatemala, which you announced at the special meeting of the Permanent Council on July 26, 2023, convened to consider the situation in Guatemala. We believe this visit to be of the utmost importance, so that you may meet with Guatemalan authorities and the candidates who will participate in the second round of elections, as well as with civil society organizations and the international community to address the delicate political and electoral situation facing the country.

As international organizations that closely follow the human rights situation in Guatemala, we consider it essential that Guatemalan authorities comply with the request of the president of the Supreme Electoral Tribunal (TSE), and that they adopt measures "of correction, protection and guarantee" towards the electoral authorities to ensure a safe and transparent electoral process.

Specifically, we believe it to be urgent that Attorney General Consuelo Porras and the Public Ministry immediately cease acts of persecution, stigmatization and intimidation against TSE personnel, and that the judge revoke the arrest warrant against the acting Registrar of Citizens Eleonora Castillo as well as the order to suspend the legal status of the political party Movimiento Semilla. As the OAS Electoral Observation Mission pointed out: "*These actions, carried out by both the Judiciary and the Public Prosecutor's Office, are hindering the natural course of the electoral process to the detriment of an entire nation that wants to express itself freely at the ballot box*".

Taking into account the seriousness of the situation in the country, we would like to request that, within the framework of the dialogue with the Guatemalan State, you propose the creation of a mission to monitor in situ the human rights situation in the country until the inauguration on January 14, 2024. As an alternative, we suggest that the Electoral Observation Mission currently present in the country



remain until the inauguration and that an expert in human rights be integrated into said mission, in order to verify that the acts of persecution and criminalization processes effectively cease, and to avoid reprisals against the electoral authorities and the members or sympathizers of the Semilla Movement. As you are aware, the participation of a human rights expert was a valuable experience during the 2021 Electoral Observation Mission in Peru.

To discuss this recommendation and express our concerns about the situation in the country, we request a meeting prior to your visit to Guatemala, which could even take place virtually. Please let us know the date and time that is most convenient for you at ksalazar@dplf.org.

We appreciate your commitment to the defense of democracy in the region and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,

Viviana Krsticevic. Center for Justice and International Law (CEJIL) Katya Salazar. Due Process of Law Foundation (DPLF) Ana Maria Mendez Dardon. The Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) Angelita Baeyens. Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Claudia Escobar Mejía. Be Just Claudia López David. Lawyers Without Borders Canada (ASFC) Denis Martinez. Impunity Watch Mara Bocaletti. International Platform against Impunity Tracey Gurd. American Jewish World Service (AJWS) Veronica Serrano Tama. Guatemala Human Rights Commission (GHRC) Vicki Gass. Latin America Working Group (LAWG) Marisol Méndez. Foundation for Justice and the Democratic Rule of Law (FJEDD) Flory Yax Tiu. Acting Together Jotay Anabella Sibrian. Protection International Mesoamerica Adriana Beltran. Seattle International Foundation (SIF) Santiago Canton. International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) Leopoldo Maldonado Gutíerrez. Article 19



Cc:

H.E. Ronald Michael Sanders. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda

H.E. Carlos Alberto Raimundi. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Argentina

Héctor Enrique Arce Zaconeta. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Bolivia

H.E. Benoni Belli. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Brazil

H.E. Hugh Adsett. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Canada

H.E. Sebastián Eugenio Kraljevich Chadwick. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Chile

His Excellency Luis Ernesto Vargas. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Colombia

Hon. Alejandra Solano. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Costa Rica

His Excellency Manuel Mauricio Montalvo Samaniego. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Ecuador

His Excellency Francisco Mora. Ambassador Permanent Representative of the United States

His Excellency Carlos Roberto Quesada López. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Honduras

H.E. Luz Elena Baños Rivas. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Mexico

H.E. María del Carmen Roquevert. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Panama

H.E. Raúl Mariano Martínez Villalba. Acting Representative of Paraguay

H.E. Josué Fiallo. Ambassador Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic

His Excellency Washington Abdala. Ambassador Permanent Representative of Uruguay

